The Olympia Mountaineers

2016 Basic Climbing Course

Basic Climbing Course Chair: Bob Keranen (360) 340-1882

On-line for Basic Climbing

Course: This course is designed to teach the fundamental skills necessary to safely climb most rock and glaciated peaks in the Pacific Northwest with an experienced leader. The course includes instruction and practice in alpine travel and in the technical aspects of roped climbing on rock, snow and glaciers. The course emphasizes basic climbing and mountaineering skills, including navigation, rope handling, knots, crevasse rescue, and belay and rappel techniques. Throughout the course, students will gain an appreciation for wilderness ethics and conservation.

The instructional portion of Olympiaís Basic Climbing Course can be completed in six months, but students who donít finish in the first year can choose to complete the course in the following year without extra charge. The course is divided into the following sections for administrative purposes: Wilderness Skills, Introduction to Climbing, Rock, Glacier, and Mountaineering Oriented First Aid (MOFA). Students must also complete a conservation or trail maintenance project. After finishing instructional course work, students must successfully complete the following types of experience climbs: conditioner, alpine, rock and glacier. Equivalencies for one or all of the sections can be granted pursuant to strict guideline upon application.

Read testimonials from past students.

Cost (includes January Wilderness Skills): $300 member

Wilderness Skills Schedule:

Students who have completed Wilderness Skills in a prior year are not required to attend these lectures.

The Wilderness Skills Schedule has not been set.

Basic Climbing Schedule:

BC Lecture #1, Intro to Climbing: Basic Skills - Columbia Hall Tue, Feb 16, 2016 LECTURE
Basic Skills Workshop - Michael T. Simmons Elementary School Sat, Feb 20, 2016 FIELD
BC Lecture #2 - Columbia Hall Tue, Mar 1, 2016 LECTURE
Belay Practice Field Trip - Priest Point Park Sun, Mar 6, 2016 FIELD
BC Lecture #3 - Columbia Hall Tue, Mar 15, 2016 LECTURE
Snow 1 Field Trip- Olympia Basic Climbing- Paradise - Paradise Area (winter) Sat, Mar 19, 2016 FIELD
Lecture 4- Glacier Travel & hazards - Columbia Hall Tue, Apr 5, 2016 LECTURE
Snow Weekend - Paradise Area (winter) Sat, Apr 9, 2016 - Sun, Apr 10, 2016 FIELD
Lecture 5- Rock - Columbia Hall Tue, Apr 19, 2016 LECTURE
Warehouse Rock Gym climbing night - Warehouse Rock Gym Mon, Apr 25, 2016 LECTURE
Rock Fundamentals field trip - SPIRE Rock Sat, May 7, 2016 FIELD
Rock Weekend - McCleary Cliffs Sat, May 21, 2016 - Sun, May 22, 2016 FIELD
Crevasse Rescue Practice - Heritage Park Tue, May 31, 2016 LECTURE
Crevasse Rescue Field Trip - Mount Rainier Lower Nisqually Glacier Sat, Jun 4, 2016 FIELD
Final Written Test - Columbia Hall Tue, Jun 14, 2016 LECTURE


Olympia Mountaineers practice crevasse rescue on the Nisqually Glacier
(photo by Mike McIntosh)

Olympia Mountaineers practice rock fundamentals at McCleary cliffs
(photo by Toby Tahja-Syrett)